Life Without Mom

One hundred and two years ago today, my mom, Helen Devlin Murphy was born. I sometimes wonder how much I am like her, whether I would have made her proud or if we would have grown from mother/daughter to friends. What would we have disagreed on, argued about, come to agree on. Would it have been a relationship that was a roller coaster, eye- rolling annoyance, or a warm and trusting relationship?

I wonder if she had lived into my teen and adult years how her presence would have impacted the me I am today.

I will never know. My memories are scattered, mostly vignettes, and as much as it’s hard to admit, mostly dim and dimming.

I think I know how her loss impacted me. Imagine a tsunami hitting a beach where I am standing alone. That about defines the loss.

I was 12 when she was diagnosed with an aggressive form of leukemia. She died 9 months after diagnosis. I imagine the outcome would have been different today, 57 years later. But about this I can only wonder.

If you are an adult with a mom, tell me about it. There is in me a gaping vacuum which is curious and longing to know what it’s like to have a mom as an adult.

On this day, 102 years after her birth, nearly 53 years after losing her, I allow myself to look into the void and wonder. But most days not.

If you have a mom as an adult, good or bad, consider what it would be like to do life without her, and do me a favor: call her. Chat about everything important or nothing of significance. Do that for me, because I can’t.

4 thoughts on “Life Without Mom

  1. So well said and helped me realize my amazing gift of still having a mom to hug at age 62. I find myself cuddling with her every time I’m home and needing her in it!

    Joy

    >

    Like

  2. So sorry that you didn’t have much time with mom and missed out on experiencing her as you got older. Also very sad is the situation where there’s a Mom but she’s not spoken to for months and at times a year at a time 💔

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, it means a lot to me that you commented. I guess many times we don’t know what we have until it’s gone. The best we can do is love freely, give of ourselves abundantly, and pray for healing, and empowerment to know how to love best, even when it seems to be unreciprocated.

    Like

Leave a comment